What I’ve Been Up To

Hello all!

I so apologize for neglecting you all the past few weeks. This summer has been insaaanely busy. How ironic is it that I feel more swamped during the summer than when I’m taking classes during the school year? Ahh.

Since the last time you’ve heard from me, a lot has happened. For one, I turned 21 on the 15th! I’m officially an adult now. I was fortunate to have the opportunity to spend my birthday relaxing with my family (even though it rained all day).

Speaking of rain, we were hit by some pretty nasty storms yesterday here in Iowa. Our family farm suffered minor damage, with some tree wreckage and our new grain bin took a pretty big blow. However, we can be thankful that no one was hurt and nothing more severe happened.

10400015_10153459011637244_7331450070133340233_n

This past weekend, I got together with my family again to celebrate Father’s Day. It’s kind of a tradition for me to bake my dad and grandpas something as a Father’s Day treat. This year, I made pecan pie and cherry pie bars.

This was the first time I’d made both of these recipes, and I was pleased to see how great they turned out!

Here’s the pecan pie (recipe here):

IMG_1704

IMG_1705

And the cherry pie bars (recipe here):

IMG_1703

IMG_1708

I’ve been staying busy tutoring this summer as well. This brings so much joy to me, and I very much enjoy working one-on-one with students. Would you all be interested in hearing how I set up my lesson plans for tutoring?

I’d like to hear more from you to see what you want to hear from me! Whether it be a recipe request, or a request for me to create an educational resource, please don’t hesitate to let me know! Leave me a note in the comments below and I’d be happy to oblige.

Until next time!

Signature

Leave a Reply

