Homemade Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls

Before I even begin this post, I have to confess that it took me months to perfect the art of making cinnamon rolls. There were numerous times I failed, and then I’d be too frustrated to try again. However, I ran across this recipe on Culinary Couture about a year ago and never looked back.

So, today, I’m happy to walk you through my step-by-step tutorial for making homemade Cinnabon cinnamon rolls!

Begin by combining 1 packet of yeast with 1 T. sugar. (Also, I usually get out 1 stick of butter to soften to room temperature at this point).

IMG_1631

Next, you’ll need 1 cup of water at a temperature around 110 degrees F. Pour this over the yeast and sugar, and let it rest for 10 minutes while the yeast activates.

IMG_1632

Meanwhile, combine 1/4 c. buttermilk, 1/3 c. oil, and 1 egg. Pour this into the yeast mixture.

IMG_1633

Add 1/2 c. sugar and stir. Then, add in 2 c. flour and combine.

IMG_1635

At this point, I used the dough hook attachment on our stand mixer to make my life a bit easier. As the mixer was running, I added flour in by 1/2 c. increments, until I used a total of 4 1/2 c. flour (including the 2 c. from earlier).

Roll the dough onto a lightly floured surface, and knead. I do this by folding the dough in half, working it down, and folding it in half again.

IMG_1636

IMG_1637

Place dough into a lightly greased bowl to rise.

IMG_1638

I always turn the oven on when I begin to make the dough, and then shut if off once I get to this point. That way, the top of the oven is a warm place for the dough to rise. I also cover the bowl with a thin towel.

IMG_1639

Let the dough sit for 2 to 2 1/2 hours. Once you’re ready to roll out the dough, prepare the filling: 1 1/4 c. brown sugar, 2 1/2 T. cinnamon, and 2 T. cornstarch.

IMG_1640

I generally set up my area to roll out the dough, too, complete with a pastry mat, rolling pin, greased 11 x 15 pan, flour, butter, and the filling.

IMG_1641

After rising, the dough will look something like this:

IMG_1642

Gently punch down the dough to let excess air out, and work until pliable.

IMG_1645

Now, prepare for battle. At this point, you’re going to need to roll out the dough into a large rectangle (about 20″ by 30″) and let me tell you, this dough fights back. It’s a good thing, though, because it means your dough has the right texture. However, this will give you the arm workout of the day.

IMG_1646

IMG_1648

Spread the 1/2 cup softened butter over the dough.

IMG_1649

Leave about an 1″ on each long side of the dough to allow the rolls to seal.

IMG_1650

Sprinkle the filling over the top, and use a rolling pin to press it down.

IMG_1651

IMG_1652

Begin to roll up the dough, beginning with a long side.

IMG_1653

Keep rolling until you reach the end, and lightly dab the un-buttered part with water to help the ends stay together.

IMG_1655

I made 18 rolls out of this log, and I notch the dough beforehand to make sure the rolls are uniform size. (I made them about an inch and a quarter wide).

IMG_1656

Use a sharp knife to cut the rolls, and place them in a greased 11 x 15 pan.

IMG_1657

Perfection.

IMG_1658

Cover, and let rise for about another hour and a half.

IMG_1660

The rolls will have doubled in size.

IMG_1661

They’re ready to bake! Place them in a 350 degree oven for 16-18 minutes, keeping a close eye on them towards the end. You want them to be golden brown, but not overdone, either.

While they’re baking, prepare the icing. Combine 2 oz. cream cheese and 1/4 c. butter, both softened.

IMG_1663

Add in 1 t. fresh-squeezed lemon juice and 1 t. vanilla.

IMG_1664

Gently mix in 1 and 1/4 c. powdered sugar, until this beautiful icing forms:

IMG_1665

Take the rolls out of the oven, and admire the delicious smells that are filling up the kitchen.

IMG_1666

IMG_1667

Place a dollop of icing on each warm cinnamon roll, and spread to cover the top of the roll.

IMG_1668

IMG_1669

I wouldn’t blame you for eating one at this point, but otherwise, let them cool for a while.

IMG_1670

Once they’ve cooled, they are best warmed up in the microwave for a few seconds before eating them. You can always make more icing, too, if you like.

IMG_1672

If you’re looking for a printer-friendly edition of this recipe, head over to this link where the original recipe can be found.

And in the meantime, enjoy the rest of your day!

Signature

One thought on “Homemade Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Pingback: Recipe Round-Up |

Leave a Reply

