Banana Oatmeal Cookies

Apparently I’ve reached the point in my blogging career where I’ve started to slack on my work. This post is the perfect example. I started making these cookies knowing I wanted to share them with you all, but I completely forgot to take pictures during the process.

Banana Oatmeal Cookies

Luckily, this recipe is simple enough to follow that you won’t even need my guidance! (I did manage to squeeze in a few cookie dough pictures, though.)

IMG_1506

IMG_1507

This one of those recipes that you pull out of the wooden recipe box that was typed on a note card with a typewriter. Needless to say, it’s been around in the fam for a few years. That just goes to show how delicious they are! You must make them immediately.

IMG_1509

The original recipe does not call for chocolate chips. Rather, it calls for nuts instead. However, if you know me at all, you know how much I adore chocolate. Hence the substitution. If you’re looking to customize the recipe, feel free to add your own twist, by adding in some nuts or simply eating them plain! I promise you they’ll be delicious no matter what you choose.

IMG_1511

Here’s the full recipe:

Banana Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. white sugar
  • 3/4 c. shortening
  • 1 egg
  • 3 bananas, mashed
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 3/4 c. quick cooking oats
  • 1 1/2 c. chocolate chips

Cream together sugar and shortening. Beat in egg and mashed bananas. Combine flour, nutmeg, baking soda, and cinnamon in a separate bowl and add to banana mixture. Stir in oats and chocolate chips. Scoop dough out into 1″ balls and bake at 350 degrees F for 10 minutes.

IMG_1512

This is a wonderful, delicious way to use up those ripe bananas on your counter. As always, your feedback on my recipes is highly encouraged and appreciated! Leave your comments below!

Also, please feel free to share my recipes – I appreciate your support. Have a great week!

Signature

One thought on “Banana Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Pingback: Recipe Round-Up |

Leave a Reply

