DIY Mother’s Day Projects

May is almost here, so that means it’s almost time for Mother’s Day! In today’s post, I’ll share with you a couple of easy DIY projects that you can make for someone in honor of Mother’s Day. Now before you get worried, I warned my mom NOT to check my blog today as these are obviously her presents for this year. I just wanted to share them with you in time for you to make them for your own mothers!

The two projects I’ll describe today are a beautiful bouquet of flowers and some mini canvas magnets:

IMG_1499        IMG_1476

I’ll start with the bouquet. You’ll need:

  • 1 Mason jar
  • Paint
  • 8 flowers (I got mine from Michael’s and yes, they’re fake)
  • Other decorations (gemstones, ribbon, stickers, etc.)

IMG_1459

Shake the paint well before opening it. Squirt a small amount in the jar – you can always add more, but you can’t get rid of it (wise words from the experienced, here).

IMG_1460

Swirl it around in the jar.

IMG_1462

Once the jar is completely covered, turn it upside down on old newspaper to dry. This can take up to a day.

IMG_1463

Meanwhile, you can prep your flowers. I cut off the ends in varying lengths and used a rubber band to tie them together to make sure they stayed in the arrangement that I liked.

IMG_1468

Once the jar is dry, you can decorate it till your heart’s content. I added gemstones all around the outside, and a cool rhinestone ring I found at Michael’s as well. You can use ribbon, baker’s twine, or stickers to make the jar your own. And voila! What Mom wouldn’t want flowers that never die? 😉

IMG_1502

Next up are these adorable canvas magnets. They are unbelievably easy. I picked up a pack of 8 at Michael’s.

IMG_1470

I used magnetic tape to add a small square to the back of each.

IMG_1472

IMG_1473

Then, I used paint markers to decorate them. Use your imagination here! And if your imagination isn’t working, go ahead and use good old Pinterest for some inspiration.

IMG_1474

Once you have them painted and it’s dried, add a layer of glossy Mod Podge to take it to the next level. 🙂 Your mom/grandmother/wife/special someone will love having the handmade gift as an addition to their fridge.

IMG_1477

If you try either one of these projects, be sure to let me know how they turn out!

And in the meantime, have a great rest of your week.

Signature

Leave a Reply

