One-Pot Goulash

I feel like goulash gets a bad rap. I know when I was a kid, I really hated the school’s version of goulash, but when my mom made it – oh, there wasn’t anything better. Brown sugar and chili powder come together to put a sweet’n’spicy spin on the traditional dish. It’s pure heaven, I tell ya.

I have to give my mom 100% credit for this recipe. However, she never has had a written recipe for it. She taught me how to cook by instinct and this is definitely one of those recipes that requires that. I’ll try to talk you through how we do it, but trust me, once you have this version of goulash you’ll never go back.

And to make it even better, this goulash is made completely in one pan which makes clean-up a breeze. It’s a win-win.

Goulash

Start the goulash by browning 1 lb. hamburger in a large pan. Add 1/4 c. chopped onion, and season with garlic powder, salt and pepper.

???????????????????????????????

Once the meat is cooked through, add 1- 15 oz. can tomato sauce, 1 1/2 cups ketchup, 1 tablespoon mustard, and 3/4 c. brown sugar. Sprinkled in some chili powder as well, varying the amount based on how spicy you want it to be. (I probably do about 1/4 tsp.)

IMG_1491

Add 3/4 c. water and 12 oz. elbow pasta to the sauce, and bring it all to a boil.

???????????????????????????????

Reduce heat to medium and let simmer for 20-30 minutes or until pasta is cooked through. Check it every 5 minutes or so, adding a bit more liquid as needed (water and/or ketchup).

???????????????????????????????

Once the pasta is fully cooked, dig in!

Here’s the full recipe:

One-Pot Goulash
Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. hamburger
  • 1/4 c. chopped onion
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1 -15 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 c. ketchup
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1 T. mustard
  • 1/4 tsp. chili powder
  • 3/4 c. water
  • 12 oz. elbow pasta

Brown hamburger with onion and seasonings. Add remaining ingredients and stir. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and let simmer 20-30 minutes or until pasta is cooked through. Serve and enjoy!

???????????????????????????????

Promise me you’ll try it, and let me know what you think, ok? 🙂

Have a wonderful week!

Signature

One thought on “One-Pot Goulash

  1. Pingback: Recipe Round-Up |

Leave a Reply

