Figurative Language Fun: Part 1

Happy April Fool’s day! It’s so crazy to me that it’s April already.

As I’ve said before, the semester is wrapping up for me here at college. One of my final projects is the development of a language arts unit, incorporating different lessons to meet a certain standard.

We are doing so in the format of a standards-based unit; this is a different grading system used in lieu of the traditional ABCDF grading scale. Students are assessed on their ability to meet different standards as set by the Common Core

With that in mind, my partner and I chose the standard under 6th grade language arts the requires students to have a knowledge of figurative language. Today, I’m bringing to you a sneak peek of what we’ve been working on!

I wrote this lesson to teach and assess students on their knowledge of personification.

Personification

This lesson introduces students through the concept of personification by using what they’ve seen in their world around them. Then, the students participate in a fun letter-writing assignment, writing from the point of view of a non-human thing with human traits!

Personification2

If you’re interested in reading through my lesson plan, you can do so by clicking here: PersonificationLet me know what you think!

Stay tuned for more figurative language fun as we finish up the unit project!

Signature

2 thoughts on “Figurative Language Fun: Part 1

  1. Pingback: Figurative Language Fun: The Whole Package! |

  2. Pingback: Figurative Language Fun: Part 2 |

Leave a Reply

