Snickerdoodles

Ever since I was little, I’ve always loved everything about baking. I love the way it relaxes you and gives you a chance to be creative, and how there’s always more to learn.

As I learned to bake a variety of goodies, I imagined having my very own bakery to sell all sorts of these goodies. Naturally, cookies have always been my favorite treat to bake. I’d picture shelves of cookies in fancy display cases and the idea of sharing my cookies with anyone and everyone was oh-so exciting.

Now that I look back on it, I realize that I can still share my love for baking without the quaint little shop I had envisioned in my mind. This is where my blog comes in –  and you, my devoted readers, are the customers. So thank you, for sharing in my love for cookies. 🙂

Here’s an oldie but a goodie – if you’ve never tried snickerdoodles, you’re missing out! They are a delightful cinnamon-y twist on the original sugar cookie.

Snickerdoodles - Creations by Kelsey

To begin the snickerdoodles, cream 1 1/2 c. sugar with 1 c. shortening and 2 eggs.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Add in 2 3/4 c. flour, 2 teaspoons cream of tartar, 1 teaspoon baking soda, and 1/4 teaspoon salt.

???????????????????????????????

Mix this until the dough begins to form.

???????????????????????????????

Grab a medium size cookie scoop and roll dough into 2″ balls, like so:

???????????????????????????????

Then, grab your oldest nicest Tupperware bowl and measure out 2 tablespoons of white sugar and 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon. Mix that up, and roll the dough ball around in the cinnamon-sugar mixture.

???????????????????????????????

Keep doing this until you have cookie sheets full of dough, and then bake these at 350 F for 8-10 minutes.

???????????????????????????????

Let cool and enjoy the final product – yum!???????????????????????????????

Snickerdoodles

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 c. white sugar
  • 1 c. shortening
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 3/4 c. flour
  • 2 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 T. white sugar
  • 1 t. ground cinnamon

Cream together shortening, sugar, and eggs. Add in flour, cream of tartar, soda, and salt. Mix well until dough forms. Roll dough into 2″ balls, and then coat in the sugar-cinnamon mixture. Bake at 350 F for 8-10 minutes. Let cool completely.

Looks good enough to eat, huh? 😉

???????????????????????????????

Here’s to a wonderful week!

Signature

One thought on “Snickerdoodles

  1. Pingback: Recipe Round-Up |

Leave a Reply

