Easter Theme Day

Happy Wednesday everyone! I hope St. Patrick’s Day treated you well. 🙂

This week I registered for classes for my senior year of college! (I just typed high school – is that a sign that I’m in denial?) Holy cow, does time fly! On the upside, I am so incredibly anxious to student teach, graduate, and have my own classroom. 🙂 It’s been quite a ride getting to this point, and I can’t wait to see what’s in store.

Anyway, let’s get to the important stuff.

As you may recall, I described our service project in a post from last month. Well, friends, it’s time for this month’s service project and I’m so excited for what I have in store!

Because we provide this program free of charge for church members, naturally I decided to make the theme of this day revolve around all things Easter while also throwing in some educational twists.

Easter Theme Day

We’ll begin by making coffee filter butterflies, such as the ones below. This will serve as an arrival activity of sorts. I made these years ago in Sunday school and they are such an easy, but beautiful craft!

Coffee filter butterflies! My preschool kids loved these. They can also be made with clothes pins for the body.    Take a coffee filter and have kids color them with washable markers. Then let them mist the coffee filter with water from a spray bottle. Let it dry, and have them pinched into a butterfly shape with pipe cleaners or clothes pins.

We’ll play “Pin the Tail on the Easter Bunny,” which I found on this website. To be honest, this is probably more for our enjoyment than for the kids’. 🙂

Pin the Tail on the Bunny - fun Easter game

We’ll practice those letter recognition skills with this awesome Easter egg hunt puzzle I found online. We printed off the sheets onto colored paper, cut out the eggs, and we’ll hide them all around. The students will then match the uppercase letter to the lowercase letter.

alphabet egg hunt: uppercase and lowercase letter match | teachmama.com

Then, we’ll make another fun craft: tissue paper flowers. These are so festive and I absolutely love them!

an easy tissue paper flower centerpiece. Tutorial by Michelle of One Crafty Mama http://michelle-onecraftymama.blogspot.ca/2012/05/easy-tissue-paper-flower-centerpieces.html

We’ll read the book “The Great Big Especially Beautiful Easter Egg,” by James Stevenson and work a bit on comprehension skills.

We’ll finish up with two fun games: Easter Bingo and an Egg Race.

             

I am so excited to carry out this plan for our project on Saturday! I always have just as much fun as the kids do. 🙂

What are some fun Easter activities that you’ve done?

Signature

Leave a Reply

