My Favorite Pizza Crust Recipe

About 5 years ago, I came across a quick and easy pizza crust recipe that I fell in love with and I haven’t looked back since. While most pizza crusts require hours of rising and other nonsense, this one only makes you wait for 15 minutes for the yeast to activate. Along with that, it is quite delicious! This weekend, I made my pizza crust to use up some leftover chicken and made BBQ Chicken Pizza! Here’s how I did so:

First, combine 1 package of yeast and 1 teaspoon of sugar. Add 1 cup of 110 degree F water to the yeast and sugar. Now, it’s important to have the right temperature of water to make sure the yeast 1) are actually activated, and 2) don’t die from water that is too hot. With that said, I don’t really make it into an exact science – I typically will let the hot water run for about 1-2 minutes, then measure the cup out. I let it sit until I can comfortably touch the water without scalding my skin. Because who really wants to dig through drawers to find the right thermometer and then wait for that when there’s pizza to be made?!

Okay, back to the recipe. After you’ve added the water, let it sit for about 10 minutes or until it looks creamy:

???????????????????????????????

Once that step is complete, add 2 1/2 cups of flour, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and 1 teaspoon salt. Use bread flour if you have it on hand, but if not, you can use all-purpose flour, too. I used the dough hook attachment on our stand mixer to combine the ingredients, but the good ol’ fashioned way of kneading works well, too. Once your pizza dough is ready, let the mixture sit for 5 minutes while you prep your toppings.

???????????????????????????????

At this point, I generally will grease my pizza pan and sprinkle a little flour on that and some on my hands as well. Then I carefully spread the crust out on to the pan. If you’re feeling ambitious, you can always roll it out on a floured surface, but sometimes a shortcut is necessary.

IMG_1264

From this point on, the rest is up to you! I chose to add barbecue chicken as my base:

IMG_1268

I added some bacon and onion for flavor, and then topped it with some mozzarella cheese!

IMG_1270 ???????????????????????????????

Bake in a 450 degree oven for 18-20 minutes, keeping a close eye on it at the end – voila, there’s your pizza!

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

I have it on good authority that my pizza looks and tastes like take-out.. a compliment, no?

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 package active-dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Combine sugar and yeast. Add warm water and let rest for 10 minutes, or until creamy. Add remaining ingredients and knead the dough. Let this rest for 5 minutes. Roll out dough and add desired toppings. Bake in preheated oven for 18-20 minutes.

    Talk soon!

    Signature

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Pizza Crust Recipe

  1. Pingback: Recipe Round-Up |

  2. Pingback: Ham & Cheese Stromboli |

Leave a Reply

