DIY Sharpie Mugs

Everyone claims that college is usually the culprit to a coffee addiction, and I have definitely fallen prey to this stereotype. As Lorelai Gilmore would say, I like my coffee as much as I like my oxygen. What makes coffee even better? Making my own coffee mug, of course!

I know that everyone and their dog has done a spin on these DIY Sharpie mugs, but I wanted to share you with you my take on the process and offer you some tips before you go about trying to do them on your own.

First, gather your supplies. You’ll need oil-based Sharpie markers (oil-based is a necessity if you want to use your mug more than once), a plain mug, and rubbing alcohol. I got a 5-pack of the Sharpie markers at Hobby Lobby for $11.99 – (after using the 40% off coupon!) and I got the mug at Target. They have a nice selection there for DIY mugs and they run about $3.99 a piece. Finally, the rubbing alcohol comes in handy for when mistakes are made. Just dab some on a paper towel, wipe off the mug, and you can start fresh again.

Supplies

Next, create your design! There are a ton of ideas on Pinterest, or you can use your good ol’ imagination! I made a colorful polka dot mug for my sweet sister, and then made a sassy one for me (how appropriate, right Mom?)

Mugs

Once you have your design complete, you just need to pop them in to the oven! Place them on a cookie sheet and place them in the oven. THEN you turn the oven on to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Set the timer for 25-30 minutes. Once the timer goes off, turn off the oven and let the mugs cool in there for a while. It’s crucial to avoid a drastic temperature change for the mugs or you’ll be left with a million little pieces and a whole lot of disappointment.

In the Oven

I have heard that the oil-based markers are dishwasher safe, but I usually just take the wash-by-hand route. Better safe than sorry, right? (Besides, the sooner the mug is washed, the sooner you can have another cup of coffee, am I right?!)

Coffee Mug Polka dot mug

Until next time, friends!

 Signature

Leave a Reply

