Welcome!

First, thank you for supporting me in my new blogging adventure. Whether you know me personally or simply stumbled upon my blog, I so appreciate you taking the time to read about my “exciting” life.

This marks my first official blog post. You can find out more about me in the “About” section of this page. As you can tell by looking at the logo, I hope to turn this blog into a place to share my passion for creation. My hobbies include baking, knitting, and crafting, so there will be posts of all kinds shared on this blog; I will do my best to include something for everyone! I start my first post by sharing my strongest passion in life: teaching.

While still a college student, I am well on my way to becoming an elementary or middle school teacher. The program at my college is rigorous, but I already appreciate my professors for preparing me for any situation that might come about as a classroom teacher. This semester of school, I am working one-on-one with a struggling reader, providing intervention in the hopes to keep her from falling further behind. Through my work, I have noticed that what she needs the most is confidence – someone to believe in her. While I am able to give her praise during the three times a week I see her, I wanted her to have something permanent  to help remind her of the progress she’s made. I present to you… the I Can Chart. I created this in the hopes of keeping track of her progress for myself, but also allowing her to visually see her accomplishments. For those of you who are in the education field, you realize how important confidence is! Feel free to use this for classroom use – heaven knows that I have taken advantage of the endless freebies on the Internet! Along with that, whatever I can do to help make a difference in another child’s life is so worth it! I already know how frustrating this job is going to be, but I also know that the rewards far outweigh any number of hairs pulled and lost along the way. Heck, even if you aren’t a teacher, maybe you need this chart to get through your day – I might even consider doing that to help me get through another intensive semester at college.

And for the rest of you, stay tuned for more creations!

“Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.” – Helen Keller

Stay crafty,

Kelsey

3 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Pingback: Recipe Round-Up |

  2. WELCOME TO YOUR BLOG. I KNOW YOU WILL LOVE TEACHING AND ALL THAT GOES WITH IT. THERE ARE SOME DAYS YOU COULD TEAR YOUR HAIR OUT BUT THE REWARDS ARE WELL WORTH IT. CAN’T WAIT TO READ MORE. KEEP ON WHAT YOU ARE DOING PROUD OF YOU AND YOUR ACCOMPLISHMENTS. TAMMI

    Like

Leave a Reply

